We Can Help

Domestic Violence

Domestic Violence

In domestic violence, alleged offenses are committed by the victim’s spouse, a person whose child has been abused, or a person living with the victim. When a victim is married or has an intimate partner, a person similar to the spouse receives domestic violence support from that jurisdiction, a protected adult or young victim, the victim’s family, or any other person targeted by domestic violence law.

The Court Case

During the process, spouses often face criminal charges, protection orders, and separation from their families, which can result in lengthy and complicated court proceedings.

Frequently Asked Questions

In Utah, criminal charges can only be filed through a government prosecutor. Can a victim drop criminal charges after they are filed? Under Utah law, a victim does not have the authority or the right to request that the pending criminal case be dismissed.

Individuals convicted of domestic violence misdemeanors are prohibited from purchasing or possessing firearms.

According to Utah Code 77-36-2.4, violating a protective order is a Class A felony punishable by up to one year in jail and $2,500 in fines. Learn more about protective orders here.

For at least seven years after your probation has been terminated, you cannot apply to have the conviction expunged from your criminal record if you were convicted of a felony domestic violence crime (probation usually lasts 36 months after sentencing for felony domestic violence offenses).

Have questions about criminal legal matters?

We are available to help

The team at Palmer Litigation is here to assist.  Located in St. George Utah, we are experienced, friendly, and knowledgeable.  Reach out today to get the answers and peace of mind you deserve.

Request a free consultation