You've Been Charged With Petty Theft, What Now?
Petty theft can be charged as a misdemeanor in some states, and can also be added to your criminal record, making it harder to obtain a job or get a position of trust.
In addition to a fine of up to $1000, community service, or incarceration for up to 6 months, petty larceny charges can carry a misdemeanor sentence. A hefty sentence can be the result of all these factors. The victim’s attorney fees can also be incurred.
Frequently Asked Questions
Generally, theft of property or services valued at more than $500 but less than $1,500 is charged as a class A misdemeanor in Utah, punishable by imprisonment for not more than one year and a fine of not more than $2,500.
A theft conviction that is less than $500 is a Class B misdemeanor, a theft conviction that is between $500 and $1,499 is a Class A misdemeanor, and a theft conviction that is between $1,500 and $4,999 is a third-degree felony.
Stealing anything capable of being stolen is a crime, punishable by imprisonment for five years if no other punishment is provided.
While shoplifting involves entering a store with the intent to steal, petty theft involves actually taking property.
Have questions about criminal legal matters?
We are available to help
The team at Palmer Litigation is here to assist. Located in St. George Utah, we are experienced, friendly, and knowledgeable. Reach out today to get the answers and peace of mind you deserve.